My Scholar Profile Visualization

Data viz bar plots citations

A short description of the post.

Soundarya Soundararajan true
04-06-2022

Today Google sent me that my works have received a total of 100 citations so far.

Screenshot of Google Scholar Email

It might be a small but significant milestone in my research career. This seemed like an answer to the questions I pondered while I read articles on impact CV making from nature publications today. Link here

This email from Google scholar awakened the visualization curiosity within me and I wanted to visualize my milestone.

Let me gather the data for the data viz.

My data

papers <- c("Issac_2015", "Soundararajan_afd_2017", "Mythri_2017", "Balachandar_2020", "Sivakumar_2014", "Soundararajan_personality_2017", "Soundararajan_methylation_2021", "Soundararajan_sleep_2021")
citations <- c(66, 9, 9, 9, 2, 2, 2, 1)
df <- data.frame(papers, citations)

First plot

library(tidyverse)
df %>%
  ggplot(aes(papers, citations)) +
  geom_col(stat = "identity")

Sorting

df$papers <- factor(df$papers,
  levels = df$papers
)
df %>%
  ggplot(aes(papers, citations)) +
  geom_col(stat = "identity")

I have a detailed blogpost on how to ask R not to sort the data. Read here.

Revised plot

df %>%
  ggplot(aes(papers, citations)) +
  geom_col(stat = "identity") +
  coord_flip()
# But I want them from high to low.

df %>%
  ggplot(aes(reorder(papers, citations), citations)) +
  geom_col(stat = "identity") +
  coord_flip()

It would be great to add the number of ciattions within the boxes.

df %>%
  ggplot(aes(reorder(papers, citations), citations)) +
  geom_col(stat = "identity", fill = "#D3D6FD") +
  coord_flip() +
  geom_label(label = citations, fontface = "bold", nudge_y = 2, color = "#5172DE")

df %>%
  ggplot(aes(reorder(papers, citations), citations)) +
  geom_col(stat = "identity", fill = "#D3D6FD") +
  coord_flip() +
  geom_label(label = citations, fontface = "bold", nudge_y = 2, color = "#5172DE") +
  labs(
    subtitle = "from Soundarya's scholar profile",
    title = "Breakdown of 100 citations",
    x = "", y = "Number of citations"
  ) +
  hrbrthemes::theme_ipsum()

Final plot

df %>%
  ggplot(aes(reorder(papers, citations), citations)) +
  geom_col(stat = "identity", fill = "#D3D6FD") +
  coord_flip() +
  geom_label(label = citations, fontface = "bold", nudge_y = 2, color = "#5172DE") +
  labs(
    subtitle = "from Soundarya's scholar profile",
    title = "Breakdown of 100 citations",
    x = "", y = "Number of citations"
  ) +
  hrbrthemes::theme_ipsum() +
  geom_label(
    data = filter(df, papers == "Issac_2015"),
    aes(x = 5.5, y = 45),
    #   nudge_y = 0,nudge_x = -10,
    label = "A Paper I co-authored on\n  vitamin B12 deficiency and \n neuropsychiatric manifestations \n was cited 66 times"
    # ,color="#404D49"
  )


Distill is a publication format for scientific and technical writing, native to the web.

Learn more about using Distill at https://rstudio.github.io/distill.

Citation

For attribution, please cite this work as

Soundararajan (2022, April 6). My R Space: My Scholar Profile Visualization. Retrieved from https://github.com/soundarya24/SoundBlog/posts/2022-04-06-my-scholar-profile-visualization/

BibTeX citation

@misc{soundararajan2022my,
  author = {Soundararajan, Soundarya},
  title = {My R Space: My Scholar Profile Visualization},
  url = {https://github.com/soundarya24/SoundBlog/posts/2022-04-06-my-scholar-profile-visualization/},
  year = {2022}
}